CLOSE
Did you mean: ?
Events

Events

Explore upcoming events where ASI will be participating.



45 Minutes On | Jan 10, 2023

Climate Change Adaptation: Community Health Risk, Resilience and Responses

Time: 9AM New York • 2PM London • 3PM Berlin

The public health and safety impacts of climate change – severe weather events, air pollution, changing vector ecologies, proliferation of allergens, water and food security, civil unrest and increasing conflict, environmental degradation and extreme heat – are increasingly likely to impact (differentially) the aluminium sector’s industrial sites, local communities, and its workforce.

In this 45 minutes on webinar Dr Jim Wesdock (Global Health Director, Alcoa) and Dr Greg Paoli (Principal Risk Scientist, Risk Sciences International) will explore an ongoing International Aluminium Institute-led and ASI supported project to develop tools for evaluating and managing climate change-related health, safety and well-being risks, all of which endeavours to favourably impact on asset operational resilience and the communities in which these assets reside.

The utility of such work to practitioners and communities across the globe is highly dependent on local community engagement and the support of operations – an Alcoa Foundation project to facilitate this engagement – through enhanced health literacy – will also be addressed as well as what the ASI and is Members can do to improve adaptation to climate change and the resilience of affected populations.

REGISTER NOW

 

SHARE THIS PAGE: