CLOSE
Did you mean: ?

14 September 2022


ASI will be hosting three webinars as part of our continuing ‘45 Minutes on…‘ webinar series over the course of October and November.

Some of the topics covered in these sessions will include Species Threat Abatement and Restoration Restoration Metric (STAR), grievance mechanisms, critical ecosystem areas and biodiversity metrics, and include guest panelists from IBAT, Copper Mark, RMI, BSR, and the WCS.

You can find more information and links to register for each session below.

The Species Threat Abatement and Restoration Metric (STAR): How ASI Members can use IBAT and STAR to manage risks and reduce threats to biodiversity

Date: October 18, 2022
Time: 11AM London • 12PM Berlin • 9PM Melbourne

The Species Threat Abatement and Restoration Metric (STAR) is a new metric, available through IBAT, that easily allows organisations to identify areas where actions to abate threats or restore habitat can help reduce species extinction risk and contribute to conservation targets. STAR supports the establishment of science-based targets for species biodiversity, and corporate commitments to nature positive action, and was introduced as an illustrative metric in the latest release of the TNFD Beta Framework.

Cameron Jones, Director of Assurance will be joined by Ben Jobson, IBAT Programme Officer, who will deliver a presentation of STAR, and provide details on how organisations can calculate STAR scores from the site to the portfolio and supply chain level. Join us for this live webinar and Q&A on STAR and how it can be applied by ASI Members.

REGISTER NOW

 

Grievance mechanisms: a training for practitioners

Date: October 25, 2022
Time: 1PM London • 2PM Berlin • 8AM New York

Grievance mechanisms form a key component of effective stakeholder engagement efforts by offering a channel for various stakeholders to raise concerns about existing or potential adverse human rights impacts of business activities. The Aluminium Stewardship Initiative (ASI), BSR, The Copper Mark and the Responsible Minerals Initiative (RMI) have developed in partnership a training for practitioners on establishing, improving and running grievance mechanisms.

In this presentation, ASI, Copper Mark and RMI will outline their respective requirements regarding grievance mechanisms in their Standards, and BSR will introduce the recently developed training and how it will practically support businesses in implementing and/or improving their own grievance mechanism(s).

REGISTER NOW

 

Critical Ecosystem Areas: Better biodiversity metrics for business

Date: November 8, 2022
Time (session 1): 8AM London • 9AM Berlin • 7PM Melbourne
Time (session 2): 5PM London • 12PM New York • 9AM Los Angeles

Despite a proliferation of standards and guidance for business on biodiversity and ecosystem services, including within ASI’s Performance Standard, there is often a gap between the adoption of principles and high quality outcomes for biodiversity following implementation. It is important to address this gap, as biodiversity loss is increasing globally.

Countries are recognising a need to address biodiversity loss through the Global Biodiversity Framework (GBF) currently under development.

The COMBO Program is working with countries to encourage policy which supports biodiversity targets of No Net Loss or a Net Gain following development. Application of such policy by developers requires accessible biodiversity data to identify the required actions.

As governments from around the world prepare to meet in December to agree to a new set of goals for nature for the coming decade, ASI Standards Committee member and Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) Senior Advisor, Dr. Hugo Rainey joins the ASI Secretariat to explore the new tools and metrics available to policymakers and industry to enable impactful decision-making against a backdrop of complex and diverse ecosystems and communities.

This 45 Minutes on… session will be held twice to enable participation in all time zones.

REGISTER NOW (SESSION 1)

REGISTER NOW (SESSION 2)

SHARE THIS ARTICLE